View Article
Current ArticlesArchive
« Back Post Date: Saturday, September 22, 2012
Two members competing in U.S. Match Racing Championship place 2nd and 3rd
U.S. Match Racing Championship this week thru Sunday Sept 23rd in Marblehead, Mass.
Contact: Jake Fish
US Sailing Communications Manager
401.683.0800 x614

PORTSMOUTH, R.I. (September 19, 2012) – American match racing guru Dave Perry will attempt to capture an unprecedented fifth U.S. Match Racing Championship this week in Marblehead, Mass. Ten teams will compete in Sonars for the Prince of Wales Bowl at the 2012 U.S. Match Racing Championship, hosted by the Boston Yacht Club. This four day US Sailing National Championship starts this Thursday, September 20.

Perry (Southport, Conn.) and crewmates Mike Rehe (Harper Woods, Mich.) and Chris Museler (Portsmouth, R.I.) hope to defend the title they won last year off the coast of Newport Beach, Calif. Museler also won this championship with Perry in 2008 (Oyster Bay, N.Y.) and 2006 (Fort Worth, Texas). Perry is the 39th ranked match racer in the world by ISAF. The two-time Congressional Cup Champion will be representing the Pequot Yacht Club (PYC) again this year. Perry won this championship on three occasions while representing PYC in 2011, 2008 and 2006, and once for the Yale Corinthian Yacht Club in 1982.

Two-time U.S. Match Racing Champion Dave Dellenbaugh (Easton, Conn.) has returned to take another shot at the Prince of Wales Bowl. Dellenbaugh, who won this championship in 2002 and 1984, is also representing the Pequot Yacht Club. He’ll be sailing this week with his daughter Rebecca Dellenbaugh (Easton, Conn.), and US Sailing Team Sperry Top-Sider members Debbie Capozzi (Bayport, N.Y.) and Stuart McNay (Boston, Mass.). A two-time Olympian (2012 and 2008) in the Men’s 470, McNay was also on the winning team at the U.S. Team Racing Championship in 2009. Capozzi, a 2012 Olympian, crews for the #1 ranked women’s match racer in the world – Anna Tunnicliffe. They won the 2011-12 ISAF Sailing World Cup and finished second at the 2012 ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship.

Results can be viewed here